|  Login
You are here: Awards/Grants
2017 Medique Leadership Award Minimize


 2016 Medique Leadership Grant
State Selection Form

Medique Pharmaceuticals is an avid sponsor of occupational health and this award highlights their commitment to the recognition of occupational health nurse leaders.  Each year since 1991, the Medique Unique Leadership Award has recognized occupational health nurses who, as determined by his/her peers, have exhibited the highest qualities of leadership and participation in their State Association of Occupational Health Nurses and in other professional activities.

In 2015, this award is presented at the AAOHN Conference in Boston where we will celebrate our 100th Anniversary as a chapter.   The award recipient will receive a $300.00 award and a commemorative plaque.

Application Process


2015 Medique Award Recipients


Boston, MA (March, 2015) — The Northeast Association of Occupational Health Nurses, Inc. is pleased to announce the 2015 award winners:


Pictured L-R: Sandra Cinque, Anne Mills, Marie Warda, Jim Lask, Margaret Stashluk, Jan Sigall, Troy Burd, Carol Parks at the AAOHN Conference

Connecticut – Karen Ross, RN, COHN
Delaware -  Maureen Kemble, RN
Maine- Lynn Harper, RN, BSN
Massachusetts-  Margaret Stashluk, RN, COHN-S/CM
New Hampshire -  Anne Mills, MSN, RN, COHN-S
New Jersey - Jan Sigall, BSN, RN, COHN-S
New York - Marie Warda, RN, COHN/CM
Pennsylvania - Troy Burd, BSN, RN, COHN-S
Vermont – Kathy Hall, BSN, RN, COHN



2015 Kathleen Schusler Award Recipient

Lynn Duhaime, RN is the 2015 Recipient of the Kathleen Schusler Memorial Scholarship

Lynne Duhaime, pictured center above, began her career working in a local nursing home as an LNA.  She achieved her goal of becoming a registered nurse in 2001.  Her career path soon led her to certification and work in High Risk Obstetrics.  After twelve years, Lynne was ready to steer her career in a new direction.  That new direction is what brought her to Occupational Medicine.

Lynne’s colleagues and mentors describe her as dedicated, self-directed and professional.  She has embraced Occupational Medicine; eagerly learning as much as she can about the field.  Lynn recognizes the value of a professional organization and as a member of AAOHN, she is a regular attendee at every NHAOHN meeting.  Lynne is diligently preparing for ABOHN Certification in 2016.  This week she is attending the COHN/S Exam Review here in Boston.

One of Lynne’s mentors, a colleague of Kathleen Schusler, noted, “Kathleen always encouraged us to be the best nurses we could be.  I think if Kathleen met Lynne today, she would admire Lynne’s effort to be the best Employee Health nurse she can be”.  Lynne, we couldn’t agree more!! 

Congratulatons Lynn!

Kathleen Schusler Memorial Scholarship 2015 Minimize

Academic Study and ABOHN Certification

2015 Application Available  

Past President of the Northeast Association of Occupational Health Nurses and the New Hampshire Association of Occupational Health Nurses, Kathleen Schusler was the 1997 recipient of the Medique National Leadership Award from the American Association of Occupational Health Nurses.  Through her leadership and example, she encouraged us all to be the best nurses we could be.  Her inspiration to her colleagues and her dedication to occupational health lives on in this scholarship.  Mentor, author, friend, colleague, we will always remember Kathy's passion for life, positive energy and caring ways.


One $1000.00 scholarship to provide opportunities to further professional education or certification for occupational and environmental health professionals (bachelor or graduate degree or OHN certification). *

Eligibility Criteria

Bachelor's Degree Graduate Degree OHN Certification

The candidate must be a NEAOHN member and registered nurse enrolled full or part time in a nationally accredited school of nursing baccalaureate program and demonstrate an interest in, and commitment to, occupational and environmental health.  Applicants must submit enrollment status.

The candidate must be a NEAOHN member and registered nurse enrolled full or part tiem in a graduate program that has application to occupational and environmental health and demonstrate an interest, and commitment to, occupational and environmental health. Applicants must submit documentation of enrollment status. The candidate must be a NEAOHN member and registered nurse preparing for an ABOHN certification.  Applicants must submit documentation of registration status.


2017 NEAOHN Grants Minimize

NEAOHN Grant Application Information

2017 Application Now Available!

Take advantage of this opportunity and apply for one of the NEAOHN conference grants which supports NEAOHN members in their pursuit of professional growth and education.

  • Four $500.00 grants are offered each year to help defray the cost of the 2017 NEAOHN Annual Conference in Norwich, CT.
  • Application and supporting material must be postmarked no later than July 1, 2017 
  • Award certificates are presented at the NEAOHN annual conference in Norwich, CT 
2015 Grant Recipients

Congratulations to the following 2015 NEAOHN Grant Recipients

Nancy Delloiacono, New Jersey

Nancy established a program that provided development, implementation and evaluation of evidence based safety guidelines to reduce risk of musculoskeletal injuries for older workers 55 and over.   She effectively discussed the limits of current information available for nurses and created a pre-survey to identify the top 3 injuries, development of evidence based safety guidelines, education, testing, follow up and review of documentation to improve education for nurses in their practice.




Nancy VanBlargan, Pennsylvania

Nancy created SOAP Notes, a national Bi-Monthly newsletter/magazine for Federal Occupational Health nurses.  The newsletter provides over 400 single nurse units for federal occupational nurses across the country to connect and collaborate with each other.  It also allows for sharing information, professional development, and review of nursing competencies, continuing education and collaboration for nurses.  Any time nurses share information we are all better for it and our employees and patients have improved outcomes.

Elizabeth Pobieglo, Massachusetts

Elizabeth created a program to provide information and guidance for managers and supervisors dealing with impaired employees in workplace.  She presented this program numerous times with very positive comments.

Jan Sigall, New Jersey

Jan created an extensive history of occupational health nursing for the NJSAOHN chapter.  The evolution of our profession was enlightening and helped to identify the significant changes we have made over the years to better support the employees and patients we serve.  We have come so far and continue to grow and establish ourselves as experts in the field of occupational health, safety and environment.





Terms Of Use  |  Privacy Statement
Home  |  Awards/Grants  |  Govt Affairs  |  2016 Conference - Portland, ME  |  AAOHN
Copyright 2009 - 2010 by NEAOHN